Astrophysics (index)about

Lyman Series

(Lyman Lines)
(hydrogen series from electrons settling from n > 1 to n = 1)

The Lyman Series is Ultraviolet Spectral Lines (Lyman Lines) of the Hydrogen atom as an electron goes from State of Excitation n = 2 or greater down to n = 1. It is named after Theodore Lyman. (As opposed, for example, to the Balmer Series for n = 3 or greater down to n = 2.)

Rydberg formula:

1/Wavelength = RH ( 1 - 1 / n2 )

RH is the Rydberg Constant for hydrogen, 1.09737316 x 107m-1 = 13.6eV / hc

(Lyman,hydrogen,line series,lines,spectrum)
91.18nm3.3PHz14eVbeginLyman Series
121.6nm2.5PHz10eVendLyman Series

Referenced by:
Atomic Excitation
Balmer Series
Balmer-break Galaxy (BBG)
Bohr Model
Brackett Series
Gunn-Peterson Trough
Hydrogen (H)
Lyman-Alpha Emitter (LAE)
Lyman-Break Galaxy (LBG)
Lyman Alpha (Ly-α)
Lyman-Alpha Forest
Paschen Series
Spectral Line