Astrophysics (Index)About

European Southern Observatory

(organization operating telescopes in the southern hemisphere)

The European Southern Observatory (ESO) operates telescopes in Chile and other southern hemisphere sites. They include:

Sites include La Silla Observatory, Paranal Observatory, and one telescope at Llano de Chajnantor Observatory.

Further reading:

Referenced by pages:
ACe consortium
Duus-Newell catalog (DN)
European Extremely Large Telescope (E-ELT)
ESO 3.6m Telescope
ESO/Uppsala Survey of the ESO (B) Atlas
European Southern Observatory Very Large Telescope (ESO VLT)
La Silla Paranal Observatory (LPO)
La Silla Observatory (LSO)
New Technology Telescope (NTT)
Overwhelmingly Large Telescope (OWL)
Paranal Observatory
rare designator prefixes
Swedish-ESO Submillimetre Telescope (SEST)